MGA Alumna Receives Teaching Award

Georgia Power to Present New Teacher Award Dec. 12

HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – Northside Elementary School teacher Meagan Pittman will be honored with a $1,000 New Teacher Assistance Grant from Georgia Power on Dec. 12.  Scott Cox, Georgia Power Area Manager for the Southwest Region, will recognize her during the Board of Education monthly meeting.  The meeting begins at 1:00 p.m. at the Perry central office.


Pittman is among 42 first-year teachers in Georgia to receive this award.  Board members, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Mark Scott and her college professor, Dr. Rhonda Amerson, will join Cox in congratulating the teacher on this honor.


Northside Elementary Principal David Sams commented, “Ms. Pittman is a wonderful choice!  She is very, very smart and we are lucky to have her here at Northside Elementary.”

Teacher nominations were submitted to Georgia Power by the 20 Georgia public colleges and universities that have a School of Education.  To be eligible for the grant, candidates must be a first-year public school teacher and in the top 25 percent of their class academically.  They must also demonstrate a high aptitude for teaching.  Since 2004, Georgia Power has awarded these grants to encourage new teachers to stay in the profession.  The grant may be used to purchase classroom supplies such as books, educational materials and technology.


The central office is located at the Eric P. Staples Building, at 1100 Main Street in Perry.  For more information about the grant, please visit