MGA Hosts Inaugural Summer Youth Camp

Middle Georgia State University's Macon Campus held its inaugural Summer Youth Camp serving students grades nine through 12 experiencing foster care on Tuesday, June 11.

Dr. David Biek, dean of the School of Education and Behavioral Sciences, wrote the grant for the camp and was awarded the contract by the University System of Georgia (USG). Dr. Grace Adams-Square, assistant professor of political science, served as coordinator.

The one-day camp started at 8 a.m. in the Jones Building with Jeffrey Tarver, assistant professor of criminal justice. The program concluded at 7:15 p.m. in the Student Life Building with a step show under the direction of Ca'Shun Barr, A.A.S vice president of the fraternity Phi Beta Sigma Gamma Rho Delta Chapter of MGA, and Dr. Biek providing campers with closing remarks.

Dr. Biek provides campers with closing remarks.

Campers were engaged in multiple activities throughout the day. One of the highlights of the camp was the Precollegiate Discipline Fair, where faculty came together to meet with campers one-on-one to share academic opportunities. In attendance: Rebekah Hazlett, Ph.D., social work department; Troy Sullivan, Ph.D., Office of Accounting and Business; Donna Ingram, nursing department; and Jasmine Brown, Nancy Guyse, Alexis Pope, and Larrica Clark, respiratory therapy department.

Activities in the Arts Life concluded with Dr. Andre Nicholson, professor of media and communication.

Dr. Troy Sullivan with MGA college mentors.

College student mentors were referred by Ashley Thompson, Jeannie Ruggerio, and Denise Bausley and
were paired with campers. Myrlice Dickens-Morse, Shorell Jeter, Cameron Stephens, Tamaya Rogers, and Nikita Khennavong served as MGA college student mentors. 

MGA student mentor, Tamaya Rogers, and Dr. Rebekah Hazlett, Ph.D.

The program would not have succeeded without the skillful assistance of these dedicated Knights who helped coordinate and dispense T-Shirts/gift bags for a successful first year: Ashley B. Thompson, coordinator in the Office of Campus Culture & Community; Elaine K. Martin, student care case manager; Jeannie Ruggerio, student success coordinator; Teresa Lorick, coordinator of academic and administrative projects in the Office of the Provost; Ebonie Frasier, lecturer of sociology, psychology, sociology, and criminal justice; Christy Colvin, director of Accounting Services; Chadwick Dent, Tara Kirby and Heatherly Wakefield, administrative assistants; Gerald Sullivan, auxiliary services; Randy Kittrell, catering manager; Gail Berry Turner.